How do I close my Invest Account?

To close your Invest account and cancel your Acorns subscription, follow the steps below:

For Mobile:

  1. After logging in to your account, tap the menu (avatar) in the upper left corner of the screen
  2. Tap "Settings"
  3. Tap "My Subscription"
  4. Tap "Close account"
  5. Tap "Cancel subscription"
  6. Follow the instructions to liquidate and close accounts

For Web:

  1. After logging in to your account, click on the menu (avatar) in the upper right corner of the screen
  2. Click on “Profile & Settings”
  3. Click on “My Subscription”
  4. Click on “Close account”
  5. Select “Cancel subscription”
  6. Follow the instructions to liquidate and close accounts

Just so you know, any pending investments that haven’t begun processing will be canceled when your account is closed. Investments that have begun processing can’t be canceled but will be liquidated and transferred to your linked checking account once they finish processing. You can check your Past screen to see if there are any processing investments.

Once you request to close your account, your funds will be liquidated and returned to your linked checking account in 3-6 business days.

Important tax information

Please keep in mind, we may send you a 1099 form for your investment activity. Most investors get one. We’ll let you know if we’re sending one when it gets closer to tax season, or you can check for it here during the next calendar year.

Was this helpful?
Acorns Logo
Acorns
Over 9 million sign ups
Get started Get Acorns